Clubs & Societies

La Mesa Hispánica

In Fall 2009, the Department of Spanish and Hispanic Studies created a Spanish club for Spanish majors and minors and any student interested in the language and cultures of Spanish-speaking countries. You are welcome to join La Mesa Hispánica.


National Spanish Honor Society

The Department cordially invites all eligible students to apply for membership in Sigma Delta Pi, the National Spanish Honor Society, Texas Christian University Chapter. The purpose of this Chapter, among others, is two-fold: to honor those who attain excellence in the study of the Spanish language and in the study of the literature and culture of the Spanish-speaking peoples; to encourage college and university students to acquire a greater interest in and deeper understanding of the cultures of the Hispanic world. Membership is also open to graduate students. 


1. Each candidate must have completed three years of study of college-level Spanish (18 semester credit hours) or the equivalent thereof, including at least three semester hours of a course in Hispanic literature or Hispanic culture and civilization at the junior (third-year) level. A student may be admitted to active membership while still enrolled in the second junior-level course if all other requirements have been met and if the instructor of the course certifies that the student’s work is of “B” or “A” quality. 


2. Candidates must have a minimal grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 point scale
in all Spanish courses taken. 


3. Candidates must rank in the upper 35% of their class—sophomore, junior, or
senior—and must have completed at least three semesters or five quarters of college work; if an institution does not track class rank, then a 3.2 cumulative GPA may be used as this criterion.


4. Graduate students who have been unconditionally admitted to a degree-granting program may be elected to membership upon completion of two graduate courses in Spanish with an average which, if continued, will make them eligible for a graduate degree. 



Officers were elected December 3, 2008. They are as follows:


President Patricia Espinosa
Vice President Aaron Walker
Secretaries Janie Bergamasco and Emily L. Smith
Treasurer Noelle Wisbauer
Project Managers Mandy Miller and Janie Bergamasco
Historian Ujaala Rashid


General Membership

On October 27, 2008, 18 new members were initiated to the Lambda Alpha chapter of Sigma Delta Pi. They are as follows:


Alise Able
Taylor Alexander
Janie Frances Bergamasco
Laura Clingman
Patricia Espinosa
Hannah Hale
Ashley House
Maggie Johnson
Sara Kercho
Colleen Lorance
Mandy Miller
Lindsay Morgan
Ujaala Rashid
Lauren Russell
Emily Lauren Smith
Yuridia Valle
Aaron Walker
Noelle Wisbauer


Sigma Delta Pi does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national
or ethnic origin, sex, age, or disability.


For further information, please contact Club and Society Moderators, Drs. Dianne Hobbs ( and Mary McKinney (

Do not forget to read the most recent Noticias, the department newsletter.



Back to top ^

AddRan logo
Department of Spanish and Hispanic Studies | © Texas Christian University
2800 S. University Drive | Scharbauer 3100 | Fort Worth, TX 76129 | Phone: 817-257-7366